fbpx

How To Watch Roger Federer’s Final Match for Free



After a glittering 24-year career, Roger Federer has officially announced he will be retiring from tennis.

His status as one of the sport’s all-time greats is unquestionable, with only Novak Djokovic and Rafael Nadal having ever won more than the Swiss’s 20 Grand Slam titles. Fittingly, Federer’s final match will be doubles partnering Nadal at the Laver Cup, a tournament he helped create.  

It’ll be broadcast live around the world, and there’s a way to watch the match for free if you have a US account. Here’s everything you need to know. 

When is Federer’s final match?

Federer and Nadal will face off against Americans Jack Sock and Frances Tiafoe today, 23 September 2022. It’ll be the second match of the night session, which gets underway at 7pm UK time – that’s 11am PT, 2pm ET, 8pm CET and 11.30pm IST.  

However, when the match actually starts will depend on how long Andy Murray vs Alex de Minaur takes to complete. 

How to watch Federer’s last match for free in the US

In the US, the match will be shown live on the Tennis Channel. This usually costs $2.49 per month or $109.99 per year to subscribe, but a free 7-day trial is available for new customers if you don’t mind entering payment details.

Signing up now means you have plenty of time to watch Federer and all the other Laver Cup matches completely free. Just remember to cancel before the seven days are up to avoid being charged. 

How to watch Federer’s last match in the UK

Eurosport has the rights to the Laver Cup in the UK. To access it, you’ll need to sign up for Discovery+, which costs £6.99 per month or £59.99 per year. Alternatively, you can add it to an existing Prime Video account for the same price.

Unfortunately, a free trial is only available with the Entertainment plan, which won’t get you access to the tennis. But £6.99 is a small price to pay if you’re a fan of Federer. Just make sure you cancel before the month is up to not be charged any more money.

How to watch Federer’s last match for free outside the US and UK

If you’re based outside the US and UK, there are plenty of other options. A full list of broadcasters is available on the Laver Cup website.

Most don’t offer a free trial, but you can get around this using a VPN if you’ve signed up to a US account. This will allow you to still appear as if you’re in the US and retain access to the services, and it’s completely legal.  

NordVPN is one of our top recommendations, but you can check out our best VPN chart, which shows you some of the best services for accessing US and UK content from abroad. 

If you’re only planning on using the VPN for this match, you might also want to consider a free VPN. Nearly all have US and UK servers, but there may be strict data limits. 

About the author: SubSellKaro

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.