New York provides extra states to COVID-19 journey advisory

James Martin/CNET

New York Gov. Andrew Cuomo and New Jersey Gov. Phil Murphy have added more states to their restricted list, meaning visitors from those states must self-quarantine for two weeks on arrival. The move comes as COVID-19 cases spike across the nation, with the spread of the coronavirus in Kansas, Oklahoma and Delaware now high enough for those states to be included on the list, with more than 10 positive tests per 100,000 residents.

“An outbreak anywhere is an outbreak everywhere,” Cuomo said. “We’re doing so many tests and so many tracings that we can trace it back to patient zero and they’re very often from out of state.”

For more like this

Subscribe to the CNET Now newsletter for our editors’ picks of the most important stories of the day.

Under the two states’ rules visitors, or residents returning, from California, Arizona, Texas, Nevada, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, South Carolina, North Carolina, Tennessee, Mississippi, Utah, Alabama, Arkansas, Iowa and Idaho must also self-isolate for 14 days when arriving in New York or New Jersey.

New York, which was once the epicenter of COVID-19 in the United States, is now tending downward in hospitalizations. 

“Our success was a function of our action,” said Cuomo, who also urged President Donald Trump to wear a mask.

Coronavirus reopenings: How it looks as lockdowns ease around the world
See all photos

The information contained in this article is for educational and informational purposes only and is not intended as health or medical advice. Always consult a physician or other qualified health provider regarding any questions you may have about a medical condition or health objectives.

About the author: SubSellKaro

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: